March 28, 2024, 02:28:21 PM

collapse

Author Topic: Temporary root and security  (Read 1790 times)

Offline nexusNovice

• Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Temporary root and security
« on: February 28, 2013, 07:34:28 AM »
I'm a newbie so please forgive me if what I ask makes no sense to the experts.

Rooting is done by experts but also by non experts who wish to use certain apps that require root to fully function. Titanium pro, Nandroid backup, Avast mobile security, and others come to mind. But it seems to me that on a mobile device running rooted can be a dangerous practice especially if the user is not an android expert.

In the windows world it is somewhat like the user running as administrator with full powers and no firewall while connected to the web. One of the safety moves in the otherwise insecure windows world is requiring a password to permit dangerous administrator actions or allowing some programs to "run as administrator" while limiting others. A sort of compromise between the risks of running as administrator and a limited user.

I am curious: does something like this exist in the android world? I mean running unrooted and protected, but allowing some apps to have root capabilities? Or is that nonsense?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Offline matt

• Popularity: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Temporary root and security
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 09:08:13 AM »
I believe that superuser/supersu are the gatekeepers you are thinking of. When a program needs root access, a box will pop up asking your permission, unless you have it set wrong. So it's a firewall to root. The permissions you have granted are maintained in a white list accessed by opening superuser/supersu as an app.

Offline loociddreemr

• Global Moderator
  • Popularity: 25
  • OG Droid-Razr MAXX-Nexus 7
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2013, 10:31:01 AM »